What is SPDG?

The State Personnel Development Grant (SPDG), administered through the Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP) within the U.S. Department of Education, assists state education agencies and their partners to improve results for children with disabilities through systems of professional development and dissemination of knowledge about best practices to educators and families.

Over the course of Tennessee’s 5-year grant, training, coaching and support will focus on helping improve academic outcomes for students with disabilities and enhancing their post-secondary opportunities, as well as increasing the alignment between early childhood programs and the K-12 system to help ensure that students enter kindergarten with the academic, social and emotional skills necessary for success.

The Tennessee State Personnel Development Grant is administered through the Tennessee Department of Education, Office of Special Populations, and works with collaborating school districts across the state.

Contacts

General Information

Theresa Nicholls, SPDG Project Director
Email: Theresa.Nicholls@tn.gov
Office: (615) 741-0572
Cell: (615) 347-1909

Kate Martin, SPDG Project Manager
Email: Kate.B.Martin@tn.gov
Office: (615) 253-4436

Gary Smith, Director of Early Childhood Special Education
SPDG Early Childhood
Email: Gary.x.Smith@tn.gov
Office: (615) 741-9871


Facilitators

Phara Williams, West TN Early Childhood Special Education Consultant
Email: Phara.Williams@tn.gov
Phone: (731) 421-6837

Dolly Gerregano, Middle TN Early Childhood Special Education Consultant
Email: Dolly.Gerregano@tn.gov
Phone: (615) 532-6258

Colleen Van Dyke, East TN Early Childhood Special Education Consultant
Email: Colleen.VanDyke@tn.gov
Phone: (865) 609-3578

Sherry Walker, Early Childhood Instructional Specialist
Email: Sherry.Walker@tn.gov
Phone: (615) 920-0144

SPDG Logistics and Technology Partner

University of Tennessee Center for Literacy, Education and Employment

Lisa Crawford
Email: lcrawfo6@utk.edu
Office: (865) 974-6659


University of Kentucky Human Development Institute

David McKay, SPDG Evaluator
Email: david.mckay@uky.edu
Office:


SPDG Family Partner

STEP Inc. http://www.tnstep.org

(Support and Training for Exceptional Parents)

Karen Harrison, Director
Email: Karen.harrison@tnstep.org
Phone: (423) 639-0125

Gina Lynette, Director of Communications, Learning and Development
Email: gina.lynette@tnstep.org
Phone: 800-280-STEP (7837)

Contact Form

We'd like to hear from you. Please send us any comments or suggestions you have for us by using the form below:

*
*